Skip to content Skip to footer

2nd Annual Diwali Gala of TiE Vancouver and C-IBC held at Fairmont Vancouver

31 37-2 48 48_1 72-2 DSC_5016 DSC_5031 104Vancouver: TiE (The Indus Entrepreneurs) and Canada- India Business Council (C-IBC) organised a grand Diwali Gala and Networking event in Vancouver on Oct 3rd. The event was held at The Fairmont Waterfront Hotel. Finance Minister Mike De Jong, Advance Education Minister Amrik Virk, Lynne Platt,  U.S. Consul General, IIias Kremmydas, Consul General for Greece,  Ravi Shankar Aisola, Conusl General of India were some of the prominent guests at the event.   In his opening remarks, Vivek Savkur, President Emeritus, C-IBC said that Diwali is the biggest festival in India most popular. Every single person celebrates Diwali in India with great enthusiasm. And where Indians go in the world they take the spirit of Diwali with them. It’s a great festival; it connects people, spreads joy and promotes harmony.   Consul General of India, Ravi Shankar Aisola congratulated everybody on this auspicious festival of light and elaborated the significance of Dusherra and Diwali in our life. He gave an insight into the meaning of Diwali, its origin which was very engaging and informative.   Overseas friends of Bhartiya Janata Party President Aditya Tawatia congratulated Canadians on auspicious occasion of Diwali and hailed hard work of C-IBC team of  Vivek Savkur, Vic Khanna, Sukesh Kumar and volunteers on hosting such a grand gala event. This is 2nd Diwali Gala organized for the business community in Vancouver. It was a fun event with Bollywood performances by Nritya Academy. The Emcee for the evening was Sirish Rao of Indian Summer Festival fame who charmed the audience with his funny one liners. The event was a combination of business networking where guests were served authentic Indian cuisine prepared especially by the chef of Fairmont Jaipur. Cathay Pacific Airways was the presenting sponsor of the event. Two Cathay Pacific Business Class tickets roundtrip Vancouver to Hong Kong and onward to Mumbai, Delhi, Chennai or Hyderabad were given away as the door prize. The tickets have 1 year validity, and travel restricted to period 04 October to 30 November, 2014, 12 January to 13 February and 29 February to 03 October, 2015. Taxes/surcharges are extra & payable by the prize winner.